Friday, February 3, 2023

    Elections 2022: Counting tomorrow for Gujarat-Himachal Assembly Elections, know where results will come


    Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh assembly election results tomorrow
    Sardarshahr and Bhanupratappur constituencies will also be counted
    Mainpuri by-election results will also come

    New Delhi/Lucknow. Counting of votes for Assembly by-elections held in 6 constituencies in five states and counting of votes for the high-profile Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat by-election will be held on Thursday. The main contest in the Mainpuri parliamentary seat is between the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The results of Uttar Pradesh’s Rampur and Khatauli, Odisha’s Padampur, Rajasthan’s Sardarshahr, Bihar’s Kudhani and Chhattisgarh’s Bhanupratappur will be declared on December 8. The results of Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh assembly elections will also be announced on this day.

    The Mainpuri by-election is being held due to the death of Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav in October. The Rampur Sadar seat fell vacant due to the disqualification of SP leader Azam Khan. Mulayam Singh Yadav’s elder daughter-in-law and party president Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav is the candidate from Mainpuri, while Mulayam’s brother Shivpal Singh Yadav’s former confidant Raghuraj Singh Shakya is the BJP candidate from this seat.

    Azamgarh seat will also be fine

    A win in Mainpuri could give some consolation to Akhilesh Yadav after the rout in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections earlier this year and the BJP’s losses in the Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha seats in the June by-elections. Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) did not field their candidates in the by-election. In this scenario, there is a direct contest between the BJP and the Samajwadi Party and its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) on three seats. Azam Khan, an MLA from Rampur, was sentenced to three years in prison after being found guilty in a case registered in April 2019 for hate speech, after which he was disqualified by the Speaker.

    The results of Sardarshahr and Bhanupratappur constituencies will come

    Sardarshahr While Bhanupratappur seat is in the hands of Congress, BJP in Khatauli seat and Rampur seat is in the hands of SP. Padampur seat is held by Biju Janata Dal, while Kudhani seat is held by RJD. The results of the by-elections will not affect the central or state governments, as the ruling parties have a substantial majority. BJP wants to retain this seat by fielding Rajkumari Saini in Khatauli. Khatauli was the epicenter of the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots in western Uttar Pradesh. Rajkumi is the wife of Vikram Singh Saini, who was disqualified from assembly membership after he was convicted by a district court in a 2013 riot case and sentenced to two years in prison. RLD has fielded Madan Bhaiya from here.

    The Sardarshahr seat in Rajasthan was held by Congress MLA Bhanwar Lal Sharma, who died on October 9 after a long illness. The Congress has fielded Sharma’s son Anil Kumar, while former MLA Ashok Kumar is the BJP candidate. A by-election was held in Odisha’s Padampur constituency due to the death of BJD MLA Vijay Ranjan Singh Bariha. Birha’s elder daughter Varsha Singh Bariha has been nominated by the party for the by-election from here.

    On the other hand, by-elections are being held for Bhanupratappur seat reserved for Scheduled Tribes in Chhattisgarh’s Maoist-dominated Kanker district following the death of Congress MLA Manoj Singh Mandavi last month. Congress has fielded late MLA’s wife Savitri Mandavi, while BJP has fielded Brahmananda Netam from here. JDU has fielded Manoj Singh Kushwaha from Bihar’s Kudhani constituency.

    Read breaking news in Hindi News18 Hindi first Read today’s latest news, live news updates, the most reliable Hindi news website News18 Hindi.

    First Published: Dec 07, 2022, 20:01 IST

    Related Articles


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Most Popular