Sunday, October 1, 2023

    Bhabanipur by-election: Mamata Banerjee to contest from Bhabanipur constituency, Trinamool Congress announces

    Calcutta. Trinamool Congress has announced the name of the candidate in the by-election of Bhabanipur assembly constituency. An official statement issued by the party on Sunday said Trinamool Congress president and chief minister Mamata Banerjee would contest from Bhabanipur constituency. At the same time, Zakir Hossain and Amirul Islam will be the party’s candidates from Jangipur and Samsherganj constituencies respectively.

    TMC workers were overjoyed to hear the news of Mamata’s contest from Bhabanipur. Posters of Mamata Banerjee have been put up all over the area. In addition, TMC staff have also started a public relations session. Not only that, party leader Madan Mitra, referring to the BJP, said they need not waste money because the election is going to be one-sided.

    Please be informed that the Central Election Commission has announced the date of by-elections for a total of three Assembly seats in West Bengal. This includes Bhabanipur, the traditional constituency of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, from where she will contest the by-elections. Votes will be counted in October.

    Mamata lost the assembly elections in Nandigram
    West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee lost the Nandigram seat in the state assembly elections this year to Bharatiya Janata Party’s Shuvendu Adhikari. However, after the TMC’s bumper victory in the state, he was able to become the chief minister again. As per the rules, he has to become a member of the Legislative Assembly i.e. MLA within six months. In such a situation, he has got a lot of relief from the announcement of by-elections by the Election Commission. Now he can reach the assembly by contesting in the by-elections. Earlier, TMC MLA Shobhandev Chattopadhyay of Bhabanipur constituency resigned on May 21.

    Before resigning, Shobhandev had said that the chief minister would have to win any assembly seat within six months. I stood up from his seat and won. I am resigning from the post of MLA so that he can be the Chief Minister after winning a fair election.


    Source by [author_name]

    Related Articles


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Most Popular